From 30 November to 12 December 2023, the 28th edition of the Conference of the Parties (COP28) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change was held in Dubai (United Arab Emirates), where, by signing a joint declaration, 22 countries from four continents have committed themselves to triple the installed nuclear power by 2050.

This statement recognises the key role of nuclear energy in:

  • Achieve a net zero greenhouse gas emissions balance by 2050.
  • Achieve the goal of limiting the global temperature increase by the end of the century to 1.5°C above industrial levels.
  • Meet Goal 7 of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Ensure access to affordable, secure, sustainable and modern energy.

In addition, they highlight:

  • The importance of nuclear technology applications in contributing to monitoring climate change and reducing its impacts.
  • Nuclear power is the second largest source of clean electricity production.
  • New nuclear power plant designs can occupy less land and be located where needed, complementing renewables and providing additional flexibility to support decarbonisation.
  • The activities of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in supporting its Member States to include nuclear power in their energy planning.
  • The need for political commitment at the highest level to stimulate broad action to boost nuclear energy.

On the other hand, the participants of this declaration agree mainly:

  • Work together to achieve a tripling of installed nuclear power, recognising the different national circumstances of each of the signatory countries.
  • Take national action to ensure that nuclear power plants are operated responsibly and following the highest standards of safety, sustainability, and non-proliferation and that spent nuclear fuel is managed responsibly in the long term.
  • Mobilise the necessary investments in nuclear energy.
  • Invite World Bank member countries, international financial institutions, and regional development banks to encourage the inclusion of nuclear energy in their energy financing policies.
  • Support the development and construction of nuclear reactors, including Small Modular Reactors (SMRs) and other advanced reactors.
  • Promote resilient supply chains, including fuel supply chains, so that technologies used in nuclear power plants are safe throughout their full life cycles.
  • As soon as it is technically feasible and economically efficient, extend the long-term operation of nuclear power plants.
  • Support "responsible countries" that are evaluating and considering the development of a civil nuclear programme.

The countries that have signed this declaration are Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Ghana, Hungary, Japan, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Sweden, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and United States.

Source: International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)